11 Comments

I cant thank you enough for this initiative you have taken ! I have been reading all your articles and every time I read it , I am basically up all night! While I do all that i can personally, I know it ain't the solution to the problem. Your content is beautifully written, simple to understand and so hard hitting. I am hugely looking forward to your climate justice and "what if" articles. Can you please consider giving us information about organisations/individuals/ initiatives who are doing hard core work to improve the situation in India and elsewhere? Just a thought. Thank you Neelima! More power to you.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks so much, Bhagyashree! I fully realise my newsletter do not make for easy reading but that is also unfortunately our reality and we will have to confront the ugliness of it. I'm glad to hear my style of communication is doing the job its was intended to do. :) And yes, definitely will get to what bold climate action means and what does it look like, with examples.

Expand full comment
Jul 23, 2020Liked by Neelima V

I am so grateful for your existence and this journey since last one year and a half since I started reading, noticing your work in whatever tangible form I could, as it has helped me gain so much of intrinsic motivation to look up to asset and support tools which would help curbing the climate crisis in and with our personal and collective capacity and empathy where we have lost so much already. The focus on advocacy area seems so much valuable than hopeless saviour complexes, as it provides actual guide for intervention. Thank you for continuing with the absolutely brave and radical approach of awareness and voicing out mechanisms. It gives a lot of hope. Keep working for as long as you find hope, on the newsletter and other small and big goals.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for the encouraging words, Tonima! What I'm doing is hardly brave or radical but well established around the world by climate activists who have been advocating large scale systemic changes for years now. I'm happy to see the positive response though, because "fighting the system" is as cliched, as old and as vague as ever. And it has been a huge learning curve for me as well, to accept that this is how our climate fight will eventually look like. Glad you are finding my work helpful. :)

Expand full comment

I want to know what to do with all this information. An article or a sharer on 5 effective steps on how I can help make a change - will be helpful.

Expand full comment
author

Yes, for sure, am planning such posts as well. But not before unpacking the numerous causes and impacts of the crisis. For now, if you'd like to do the research and reading yourself, Project Drawdown is an international non-profit listing down climate solutions of all scale. Check their site - https://drawdown.org/

Expand full comment

Hi Deepthi, I think this is the question many of us ask while reading these articles but you see Neelima has been continuously sharing steps that we can take.

I will try to list 5 that you asked for

1. Minimize non-essential air travel. A simple calculation would reveal that a round trip between India and the US leads to co2 emission that is nearly equal to India's per capita emission. Use public/shared transport when possible.

2. If you live in an independent house, make efforts to switch to solar power to minimize your traditional energy consumption. Wind maybe an option at some places.

3. Know about major infrastructure projects in your area, ones that are known to create problems, support organisations raise those issues.

4. With all the information you have, hold the local government/people in power accountable.

5. Share the information you have. Neelima decided to the newsletters free, it shows how much she values reaching out to people and how important it is!

These are the points I picked from previous newsletters. Also, I am sure Neelima would write a well-researched article at some point.

Expand full comment

Hi Manish, yes I understand. And Neelima, I am grateful and love your posts. Will get my friends to read them too.

But I get a little anxious and overwhelmed at the scale of this problem and feel helpless and a lil angry. Which is why when asked for comments, I jumped at the opportunity to ask for what I wanted. Please do not think that I do not value the newsletters.

Expand full comment

Hi, it is very clear that you value the newsletter given the fact you read and care enough to comment. I didn't mean to convey otherwise. I know problem at hand is overwhelmingly challenging & I relate to you on anxiety. Have a good day!

Expand full comment

These newsletters are amazing Neelima. And I am so glad you decided to do this. Instagram posts were clearly not enough. I am really looking forward to the future issues. Thank you.

Expand full comment
author

Glad to hear that, Manish! :)

Expand full comment